Wolff dedicates Mercedes’ sixth straight title to late team mate Niki Lauda

With Valtteri Bottas winning and Lewis Hamilton third, Mercedes made history at Suzuka on Sunday as they became only the second team in history to win six straight constructors’ titles, while at the same time ensuring that only Hamilton or Bottas can be crowned 2019 drivers’ champion. That means they’re now guaranteed to become the first team ever to secure six straight championship doubles – an achievement Silver Arrows Team Principal Toto Wolff was quick to dedicate to late team member Niki Lauda.

FIA: Vettels Start was acceptable

Ferrari driver Sebastian Vettel escaped a penalty for a possible jump-start in the Japanese Grand Prix because his pre-start movement was “within acceptable tolerance”, the FIA has explained. Vettel’s car, which had lined up on pole for the Suzuka Formula 1 race, had twitched forward before the start lights were out, which meant he was placed under investigation soon after.

Japanese GP results altered

The FIA has launched an investigation into why the chequered flag light display panel was shown a lap too soon at Formula 1’s Japanese Grand Prix, which meant the race was declared a lap earlier than originally intended.

Ricciardo disqualified from Singapore qualifying for power breach

Daniel Ricciardo may have finished a strong P8 for Renault in qualifying for the Singapore Grand Prix – but he was later disqualified from the results of the session after it was discovered that the Australian had exceeded his MGU-K power limit in the Q1 segment of qualifying. The MGU-K is part of an F1 car’s energy recovery system which converts energy generated under braking into electrical power, which can then be deployed directly to the drivetrain. Teams are limited to deploying 120kW of this electrical power – equivalent to around 160bhp – out on track. But after it was […]

FIA Formula 3 Championship 2020 season calendar confirmed

The 2020 FIA FORMULA 3 Championship calendar has been confirmed today. It will comprise a total of nine rounds – one more than in 2019, all support events of the FIA Formula One® World Championship and the FIA FORMULA 2 Championship. Seven rounds will be held in Europe, whilst two flyaway events will complete the calendar. There will be two new venues: Sakhir in Bahrain and Zandvoort in the Netherlands.