WEC: 30 cars for round 5 in Texas

The fifth round of the 2019/20 FIA World Endurance Championship will be hosted by the Circuit of The Americas in Austin, Texas on Sunday 23 February.  The six-hour race will be contested by 30 cars across the 4 classes, with 83 drivers and 21 teams representing 25 nations from all corners of the globe.

Local fans will have two American teams on the grid to cheer on with the addition of the no63 Corvette Racing Chevrolet Corvette C8.R in the LMGTE Pro class, driven by Jan Magnussen and Mike Rockenfeller and fresh from their LMP2 class victory at the Rolex 24 at Daytona, American team Dragonspeed return to the FIAWEC with an Oreca 07-Gibson.  Daytona winners Hendrik Hedman and Ben Hanley will be joined by American Colin Braun for the 6 Hours of CoTA.

The LMP1 field has been reduced to three cars for the 6 Hours of Circuit of The Americas with the withdrawal of the two Ginettas for one race so the team can return them to the UK for maintenance.  The British team will be back for the next race at Sebring.  Leading the way in Texas will be the championship-leading no7 Toyota Gazoo Racing TS050-Hybrid with Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez just 8 points ahead of their Toyota teammates Brendon Hartley, Kazuki Nakajima, and Sebastien Buemi.

The no1 Rebellion Racing R13-Gibson will provide the Toyotas with a challenge after the Swiss team won the race in China last November.  Bruno Senna and Norman Nato will be joined by their American teammate Gustavo Menezes in the driving duties once again.

The LMGTE Pro field has increased to seven cars with the addition of the single Corvette to take on the might of Porsche, Ferrari, and Aston Martin.  Bahrain race winners Nicki Thiim and Marco Sorensen are the current championship leaders for Aston Martin, 14 points ahead of reigning world champion Kevin Estre and Michael Christensen in the Porsche.

The LMP2 field will feature a bumper grid of nine cars with the addition of the Dragonspeed Oreca.  The race for the title is tight with the no37 Jackie Chan DC Racing Oreca 07 of Ho-Pin Tung, Gaby Aubry and Will Stevens just 3 points in front of Bahrain winners Phil Hanson, Filipe Albuquerque and Paul Di Resta in the no22 United Autosports Oreca, with the no29 Racing Team Nederlands Oreca just 3 points further behind the leading duo.

With 11 entries the LMGTE Am field is the largest class of the field.  American Ben Keating will be joining his fellow 8 Hours of Bahrain teammate Jeroen Bleekemolen in the no57 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR.  The German team is tied on 73 points at the top of the points standings with the no83 AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE EVO of Francois Perrodo, Emmanuel Collard and Nicklas Nielsen, with the no98 Aston Martin Racing Vantage 12.5 points behind the leading pair of cars in third place.

The 6 Hours of Circuit of The Americas is Round 5 of the 2019/20 FIA World Endurance Championship.  Free Practice and Qualifying will be held on Saturday 22nd February with the six-hour race starting at 12h00 (local) on Sunday 23 February.

CLICK HERE for the entry list for the 6 Hours of Circuit of The Americas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.