NASCAR changes the 2020 CUP schedule

NASCAR announced some pretty big changes to the NASCAR Cup 2020 season. For the first time since 2001 the season finale will not be in Miami. The season will also end to weeks earlier. However there are no new tracks added or removed.

NASCAR 2020 Cup season

The 2020 season will start at the Daytona International Speedway on the 16th of February. After Daytona the teams will move to the West Coast for the races in Las Vegas, Auto Club Speedway and ISM Raceway. Other changes include moving the race at Martinsville to 9th of May (Night race). Pocono will host a doubleheader of Cup races on the 27th and 28th of June. So there will no longer be two fully separate race weekends there. The teams will be back in Daytona on the 28th of Augustus for the regular season finale. The playoffs will also see a change with Darlington Raceway now hosting the playoff opener on the 6th of September Las Vegas, which has been hosting the playoff opener since last season, will drop to the first race of the second round on Sept. 27.

And finally the Cup final will be at the ISM Raceway on the 8th of November.

2020 NASCAR Cup Series schedule


Sunday, Feb. 9 The Clash
Thursday, Feb. 13 Duel at Daytona
Sunday, Feb. 16 Daytona 500
Sunday, Feb. 23 Las Vegas Motor Speedway
Sunday, March 1 Auto Club Speedway
Sunday, March 8 ISM Raceway
Sunday, March 15 Atlanta Motor Speedway
Sunday, March 22 Homestead-Miami Speedway
Sunday, March 29 Texas Motor Speedway
Sunday, April 5 Bristol Motor Speedway
Sunday, April 19 Richmond Raceway
Sunday, April 26 Talladega Superspeedway
Sunday, May 3 Dover International Speedway
Saturday, May 9 Martinsville Speedway
Saturday, May 16 All-Star Race, Charlotte
Sunday, May 24 Charlotte Motor Speedway
Sunday, May 31 Kansas Speedway
Sunday, June 7 Michigan International Speedway
Sunday, June 14 Sonoma Raceway
Sunday, June 21 Chicagoland Speedway
Saturday, June 27 Pocono Raceway
Sunday, June 28 Pocono Raceway
Sunday, July 5 Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Saturday, July 11 Kentucky Speedway
Sunday, July 19 New Hampshire Motor Speedway
Sunday, Aug. 9 Michigan International Speedway
Sunday, Aug. 16 Watkins Glen International
Sunday, Aug. 23 Dover International Speedway
Saturday, Aug. 29 Daytona International Speedway


Sunday, Sept. 6 Darlington Raceway
Saturday, Sept. 12 Richmond Raceway
Saturday, Sept. 19 Bristol Motor Speedway
Sunday, Sept. 27 Las Vegas Motor Speedway
Sunday, Oct. 4 Talladega Superspeedway
Sunday, Oct. 11 Charlotte Motor Speedway
Sunday, Oct. 18 Kansas Speedway
Sunday, Oct. 25 Texas Motor Speedway
Sunday, Nov. 1 Martinsville Speedway
Sunday, Nov. 8 ISM Raceway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.