Formula 2 returns for post-season tests in Abu Dhabi

Fresh from the season finale in Abu Dhabi, the FIA Formula 2 Championship will enjoy three days of testing in sun-kissed conditions at the beautiful Yas Marina circuit. Taking place between December 5-7, it will provide the teams with their first chance to evaluate their potential driver line-ups for the new campaign.

A variety of drivers will take part in the tests across the three days as they look to not only impress their potential new sides, but also to assess whether they would be the right fit for them. The drivers will enjoy plenty of track time, with the morning session running from 9am to 12pm (local time) and the afternoon session taking place between 2pm and 5pm. Temperatures are expected to fluctuate between 27 and 29 degrees in dry conditions, handing teams maximum track time to test the cars for the final time, ahead of the switch to 18-inch tyres in 2020.

Fresh faces and returning favorites on Day 1

With Nyck de Vries and Nicholas Latifi confirmed to depart F2, top seats have become available at two Championship winning teams. While ART have already announced rookie Marcus Armstrong as their first driver, a second seat remains available. F3 frontrunner Christian Lundgaard has been handed the opportunity to impress over the next three days. Meanwhile, DAMS have today confirmed the partnership of experienced racer Sean Gelael and Daniel Ticktum, both of whom will test for the team in Abu Dhabi.

There will be a number of F3 drivers climbing the junior formula ladder for testing, with Yuki Tsunoda given an opportunity at Carlin, as well as Pedro Piquet, who will drive for Charouz Racing System. Felipe Drugovich and Niko Kari have also been handed test drives with MP Motorsport and Campos Racing. HWA RACELAB will try out their already confirmed 2020 partnership for the first time, with Giuliano Alesi and Artem Markelov testing for the Germans throughout the three days. Likewise, PREMA Racing’s title-winning duo of Mick Schumacher and Robert Shwartzman will get their first outing as F2 teammates.

Guanyu Zhou continues with UNI-Virtuosi Racing in Abu Dhabi and he will be joined by the team’s newest driver, Callum Ilott.

FIA Formula 2 Championship, Abu Dhabi post-season test day 1 driver entry list



1 Nikita Mazepin RUS Carlin
2 Yuki Tsunoda JAP Carlin
3 Christian Lundgaard DNK ART Grand Prix
4 Marcus Armstrong NZL ART Grand Prix
5 Dan Ticktum GBR DAMS
6 Sean Gelael IDN DAMS
7 Guanyu Zhou CHN UNI-Virtuosi
8 Callum Ilott GBR UNI-Virtuosi
9 Mick Schumacher DEU PREMA Racing
10 Robert Shwartzman RUS PREMA Racing
11 Louis Deletraz CHE Charouz Racing System
12 Pedro Piquet BRA Charouz Racing System
14 Guilherme Samaia BRA Campos Racing
15 Niko Kari FIN Campos Racing
16 Felipe Drugovich BRA MP Motorsport
17 Mahaveer Raghunathan NLD MP Motorsport
18 Giuliano Alesi FRA BWT HWA RACELAB
22 Artem Markelov RUS BWT HWA RACELAB
20 Luca Ghiotto ITA Trident
21 Marino Sato JPN Trident

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.